2017International Austronesian Conference

Cultural Heritage & Community Empowerment

Introduction

In order to promote the political, social, economic and culture development of Austronesian peoples, enhance periodical collaboration and exhcnage among Austronesian peoples, and increase the global understanding and respect toward the Austronesian cultures, the Council of Indigenous Peoples held the 2002 Assembly of Austronesian Leaders and has held the International Austronesian Conference annually since 2003, inviting researchers in the filed of Austronesian research to discuss related issues, including the regional social development, the inheritance of knowledge, education and culture, natural ecology and traditional territories, economic development, tourism and cultural industries. We expect to build the dialogue platform of Austronesian discourses as the basis to promote continuous works through the conference, and to present the international features of cultural and biological diversity of indigenous peoples.

This year, we intent to invite researchers and participants concerned with indigenous affairs to propose analyses and discourses regarding “Cultural Heritage and Community Empowerment – Taiwan’s southbound connection” along with other topics associated with the modern development of indigenous peoples, expecting to encourage the awareness of issues about Austronesian peoples and strengthen regional links. In addition, we expect to establish the platform for agendas and actions. It also teams up with theMinistry of Culture and the National Museum of Prehistory for a series of seminars and field visit program.

Cultural heritage is the legacy of human wisdom that is valuable on the aspects of history, art culture, and science. It provides us with different facets when we investigate and try to understand people’s interactions with the environment and other people under different cultures, times and space backgrounds. To protect and maintain cultural heritage is a burdensome task that requires professionality. Besides professional technological dimension, we have to contemplate, during the process of preservation, the various levels of relationships between the cultural heritage and social cultures, politics, economy, and even different groups of peoples.

In Southeast Asia and the Pacific regions, cultural heritages demonstrate a multiplicity of appearances; however, they are now caught in the quagmire of rapid changing and vanishing, the same conundrum that happens in Taiwan all the time. “Cultural Heritage and Community Empowerments: Anthropological Perspectives on Taiwan’s Southbound Connections” will launch its opening ceremony and welcome banquet in Peinan Site Park (No.200, Wenhuagongyuan Rd., Taitung City, Taitung County, Taiwan) at 17:30 to 20:30 on November 15 (Wednesday) 2017. A plethora of international scholars from Europe, New Zealand, Australia, Southeast Asia and the Pacific regions are invited to the seminar and symposium to discuss related issues from the viewpoints of academy, indigenous peoples, museums, and community empowerments with local professionals, scholars, and citizens in the International Meeting Hall of National Museum of Prehistory (No.1, Museum Rd., Taitung City, Taitung County, Taiwan) on November 16 (Thursday) to 17 (Friday), 2017. Let us all contribute our parts to preserve Taiwan’s valuable cultural heritages, ecology and environment.

臺北場次

緣起與目標


原住民族委員會(以下簡稱原民會)為促進南島族群政治、社會、經濟、文化之發展,加強南島族群間定期合作及交流並提升全球對南島文化之認知與尊重,自2002年舉辦「南島民族領袖會議」,2003年起每年舉辦「南島民族國際會議」邀集南島語族研究領域之專家學者共同與會研討南島語族區域社會發展、知識傳承、教育文化、自然生態與傳統領域、經濟發展、觀光與文化產業等議題。此一定期、常態之國際會議,提供南島語族相關論述交流平台並作為推動永續工作之基礎,呈現原住民族文化與生物的多樣性、歷史與人文方面的研討與交流。本會議平台同時提供臺灣原住民族學者及文化工作者於跨領域、跨文化討論中,深切了解南島語族相關研究與社會發展的觀點與策略。

原民會2017年賡續辦理「南島民族國際會議」,針對當代原住民族文化資產與社群培力之相關主題,邀請國內、外學者專家及關心原住民族事務之各界人士與會,就相關議題於南島區域之現況與未來展望等提出分析論述並進行研討,期促進各界對南島語族相關議題之認識與掌握,並加強區域連結,進一步架構議題串連交流與行動之平臺。本年度與文化部(國立臺灣史前文化博物館)合作辦理系列研討及部落參訪。

臺東場次

緣起與目標


文化資產是人類智慧的結晶,具有歷史、藝術、文化或科學等價值,提供我們探究與瞭解在不同文化、時空背景之下,人與環境、人與人之互動的種種面貌。 文化資產的保存與維護是一項專業且艱鉅的工作,除了專業的技術面向,在保存的過程中必須縝密思考文化資產與社會文化、政治經濟、甚至是人群之間各種層面的關係。

在東南亞與太平洋地區,文化資產呈現出非常多樣性的面貌,但也共同面臨快速變遷與消失的危機,同樣的情況也經常發生在臺灣。「文化資產與社群培力:臺灣南向連結的人類學觀點」將於 2017 年 11 月 15 日(三)下午 17:30 至 21:00 於卑南遺址公園( 950 台東縣台東市文化公園路 200 號)舉行開幕式與歡迎晚宴,並於 2017 年 11 月 16 日(四)至 17 日(五),於國立臺灣史前文化博物館國際會議廳(臺東 縣臺東市博物館路 1 號)進行研討和座談活動,邀請來自歐洲、紐澳、東南亞和太 平洋地區等國際代表性學者來臺灣與臺灣當地專家學者和參與民眾,從學術的角 度、原住民的角度、博物館與社群培力的角度進行相關議題討論,一起永續臺灣珍 貴文化遺產、生態與環境。